Johnny’s Spring Favorites

We won’t be posting a new CYNC this week, so I’ll bring you the quarterly installment of Johnny’s favorite new comics and records.  I’ll also feature some upcoming comics and records that I’m looking forward to in 2011.

First, I want to give a shout-out to some great friends and great stores.  This past weekend, I went to Raleigh, NC to visit Vince, Brandon, Melissa, and Caroline.

On the way to Raleigh, I stopped into Heroes Aren’t Hard to Find in Charlotte, NC.  This is one of my favorite comic stores in the country, offering a great combination of indie books and more mainstream material.  They also host the regionally peerless comic con, Heroes Con.

On  Saturday, Vince, Brandon, Caroline, and I went to Chapel Hill to do a bit of shopping. Caroline needed beads for art projects, Brandon and Vince were looking for records, and I was looking for records and comics.  My favorite store in Chapel Hill (and one of my favorite comic stores in the country) is Chapel Hill Comics.  They specialize in indie books, and they also have a good used graphic novel section.

Vince introduced me to All Day Records, which specializes in rare, hard-to-find records.  I was thrilled to find an original copy of Daniel Johnston’s 1990 album, which features some of his best songs, including “True love will find you in the end” and “Some things last a long time.”

The final store we went to was Nice Price Books.  This is a great place to browse for used records and books.  I always find awesome stuff when I look here, and this time was no exception.  While I was waiting for Brandon to finish browsing through some folk records, I spotted a cardboard box tucked under a shelf.  Inside was a treasure chest of long out-of-print indie comics in great condition.  I found Palookaville #1, Optic Nerve #1, Palestine #1, a first printing of James Strum’s disturbingly awesome Revival, and a couple of old R. Crumb comics.  I was ecstatic.  These books fetch a fair penny on Ebay, and I paid about 98 cents per comic!  Sometimes you can really luck out when second-hand stores don’t know how much certain items they have are really worth.

We’ll be back next week with an all-new comic showcasing Sookie’s St. Patty’s Day Birthday!

This entry was posted in Johnny's Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

